pasterpod.blogg.se

Raspberry pi obd2 reader
Raspberry pi obd2 reader






raspberry pi obd2 reader
  1. RASPBERRY PI OBD2 READER HOW TO
  2. RASPBERRY PI OBD2 READER DRIVERS
  3. RASPBERRY PI OBD2 READER BLUETOOTH

RASPBERRY PI OBD2 READER BLUETOOTH

OBDII bluetooth device almost any on Amazon should work I use the veepeak one.I suggest these because they have built in Wifi and bluetooth. Raspberry Pi Zero W or Raspberry Pi 3.A computer monitor or TV ( you can use the one you current computer is attached to).Using linux and using the command line in a terminal.Skills required (or to learn on the way):

raspberry pi obd2 reader

This is not going to be a super extensive guide, but it should be enough to get off the ground if you are a little tech savvy. I learned a bunch during this project and I am still amazed that it actually works.Īlright, as Foxtato suggested here is a simple how-to to get other people started if they want to fool around with a Raspberry Pi like I did. Laying around - wire and cable making stuff, walnut scrap.Tools and other small things - Who even knows at this point.To give a general idea of cost here is a very rough part list: However the goal of the project was not to be cheap. In parts only the total cost of the project is relatively cheap, but I ended up buying all sorts of tools and other items that drove the cost up.

RASPBERRY PI OBD2 READER HOW TO

They are MUCH easier to read in person.Īnd a video of it coming up when my car starts - not sure how to embed so here is the link: Once again scrap walnut was used for this.Ĭlose view with LCD's on. The LCD's are also wired to a switch so they are not on all of the time. This is also where I added LCD voltage indicators for both of my batteries. The raspberry pi sits in the little storage box (I don't know what it is called). It is all light enough that I am not worried about it smacking me in the face in an accident. The screen is mounted with dual lock velcro and a tiny piece of aluminum. Also, it is hard to read the small text in the picture, but in person it is easy, it is about the same sized font as the KPH numbers around the speedometer. The 'case' is some scraps of walnut I lying around. For being so small it is still fairly info dense.

raspberry pi obd2 reader

I like it because it is tiny and does not obstruct my view in any way.

RASPBERRY PI OBD2 READER DRIVERS

What the screen looks like from the drivers view. Since I was already fiddling with the wiring under my dash I also added in LCD voltage gauges for my starter and house batteries.

raspberry pi obd2 reader

This project was aimed at getting insight into my fuel usage so the display current shows that info, but theoretically I could display any info output by my truck. Right now I have it displaying my current MPG's, intake temp, water(coolant) temp, MAF reading, Trip OD, Trip fuel used, and Trip average MPG. If anyone wants more details feel free to ask, but the final results was a OLED screen mounted near my dash that can display any OBD data I request. People use them for all sorts of things from game emulators to controlling DIY robots. At the time, I had never used a raspberry pi, so I had a lot of learning to do.įor those of you unfamiliar, a Raspberry Pi is essentially a tiny Linux computer. I live near a Microcenter and they were selling Raspberry Pi Zero W's for $5 each so I decided to buy a few. Instead I made things monumentally more difficult and decided to make a project out of it. I have owned a Bluetooth OBDII reader for a while and I had previously planned to either get a scangauge, ultragauge or mount an old cellphone to view my truck's data.








Raspberry pi obd2 reader